Dec 7, 2019

Josep Dalmau, M.D., Ph.D., Honored for Excellence in Epilepsy Research at the American Epilepsy Society’s Annual Meeting

View More Press Releases

Press Release

Saturday, Dec. 7, 2019
8:45 a.m. EST

BALTIMORE - Josep Dalmau, M.D., Ph.D., received the Research Recognition Award for clinical science at the annual meeting of the American Epilepsy Society (AES), a medical and scientific society whose members are dedicated to advancing research and education for preventing, treating and curing epilepsy.

Dr. Dalmau is a research professor at the Catalan Institute for Research and Advanced Studies and the Institute for Biomedical Investigations at Hospital Clinic, University of Barcelona, Spain, as well as adjunct professor of neurology at the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia. Previously he was co-director of neuro-oncology at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences and was on the faculty at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, New York.

In his initial work, Dr. Dalmau discovered several immune-mediated paraneoplastic diseases. In more recent studies, his group discovered anti-N-methyl-D-aspartate receptor (NMDAR) encephalitis and nine other disorders mediated by antibodies against ion channels and synaptic receptors – disorders which represent a new category of diseases. This work has been funded by several Spanish and European agencies, as well as the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Dr. Dalmau is the recipient of numerous awards including the George W. Jacoby award from the American Neurological Association and the George Cotzias award from the American Academy of Neurology (AAN). Dr Dalmau is a member of the National Academy of Medicine and many other scientific societies. He has served as chair of the autoimmune neurology section at AAN and is currently editor of Neurology: Neuroimmunology and Neuroinflammation.

He received his M.D. and Ph.D. from the Autonoma University of Barcelona, Spain. Following, he trained in neuro-oncology at Memorial Sloan-Kettering.

AES’ Research Recognition Awards are given annually to active scientists and clinicians working in all aspects of epilepsy research. The awards are designed to recognize professional excellence reflected in a distinguished history of research of important promise for the improved understanding and treatment of epilepsy. These awards include a $10,000 honorarium.

Join the AES Social Conversation Today

Follow @AmEpilepsySoc on Twitter and use the hashtag #AES2020

Visit us on Twitter


Denae Wilkins
Public Communications Inc.

About the American Epilepsy Society

Founded in 1946, the American Epilepsy Society (AES) is a medical and scientific society whose members are dedicated to advancing research and education for preventing, treating and curing epilepsy. AES is an inclusive global forum where professionals from academia, private practice, not-for-profit, government and industry can learn, share and grow to eradicate epilepsy and its consequences.