Dec 7, 2019

Aimee W. Smith, Ph.D., Honored for Excellence in Addressing Psychiatric Aspects of Epilepsy at the American Epilepsy Society’s Annual Meeting

View More Press Releases

Press Release

Saturday, Dec. 7, 2019
2:15 p.m. EST

BALTIMORE - Aimee W. Smith, Ph.D., was honored with the Rebecca Goldberg Kaufman Clinical Award in Ethical Neuropsychiatry at the annual meeting of the American Epilepsy Society (AES), a medical and scientific society whose members are dedicated to advancing research and education for preventing, treating and curing epilepsy.

Dr. Smith is an assistant professor of psychology at East Carolina University in Greenville, North Carolina. She also has an adjunct appointment in pediatrics at Brody School of Medicine, East Carolina University and is a licensed health service psychologist. She is a researcher, educator and clinician who is dedicated to transforming healthcare’s approach to epilepsy, medication adherence and healthcare transition using principles of health behavior change. She mentors graduate students with the aim of training the next generation of mental health care providers to serve youth with epilepsy.

Dr. Smith has published journal articles and book chapters on pediatric chronic illness, with a special focus on the psychosocial aspects of pediatric epilepsy (e.g., quality of life, medication adherence, transition and behavior problems). This year, Dr. Smith received a Junior Investigator Award from AES to study healthcare utilization and associated costs during healthcare transition in adolescents and young adults with epilepsy.

The Rebecca Goldberg Kaufman AES Clinical Award in Ethical Neuropsychiatry honors the memory of educator Rebecca Goldberg Kaufman, who held knowledge and compassion as keystone virtues. As a mother of a child with epilepsy, she understood the significant psychiatric and social ramifications of epilepsy and became a staunch advocate for increased education of the psychological aspects of epilepsy. She also supported clinical research on the psychiatric effects of anticonvulsants. Supported by the AES Rebecca Goldberg Kaufman Fund, this award promotes clinical neuropsychiatry, the psychiatric aspects of epilepsy and/or the use of antiepileptic drugs in the treatment of psychiatric disorders. The award includes a $1,000 honorarium.

Join the AES Social Conversation Today

Follow @AmEpilepsySoc on Twitter and use the hashtag #AES2020

Visit us on Twitter


Denae Wilkins
Public Communications Inc.

About the American Epilepsy Society

Founded in 1946, the American Epilepsy Society (AES) is a medical and scientific society whose members are dedicated to advancing research and education for preventing, treating and curing epilepsy. AES is an inclusive global forum where professionals from academia, private practice, not-for-profit, government and industry can learn, share and grow to eradicate epilepsy and its consequences.